Faculty Mentoring Awards

Established in 2006, the Faculty Mentoring Awards, sponsored by the Carolina Women’s Leadership Council, recognize outstanding faculty members who go the extra mile to guide, mentor and teach. Each year the Council recognizes three recipients with an award of $5,000 each in the categories of faculty-to-undergraduate student mentoring, faculty-to-graduate student mentoring and faculty-to-junior faculty mentoring.

2018-2019 Winners

Maria E. Diaz-Gonzalez de Ferris, M.D., M.P.H., Ph.D.
Professor of Pediatrics; Founder and Director, the UNC Self-Management and Transition Program

Dr. Maria E. Diaz-Gonzalez de Ferris has been practicing pediatric medicine for over 25 years. In 2006, she began the research that would eventually become the UNC Self-Management and Transition Program (STARx), the focus of which is to develop self-management skills and disease knowledge among adolescents with chronic health conditions in an individualized fashion. Outside of work, she is a professional cake decorator and likes to bake, garden, sing and dance.

Allen Anderson
Professor and Chair Department of Music

Allen Anderson joined the UNC-Chapel Hill faculty in 1996 and teaches courses in composition, music theory and analysis. He approaches teaching with a regard for the vitality and potency of music, respect for the student and an awareness of responsibilities as a teacher. “It is my task to help my students develop their ability to respond with confidence and accuracy to a host of musical situations, be they creative, analytic or scholarly, and to encourage the internal resourcefulness that allows them to make connections.”

Oswaldo Estrada
Professor of Spanish and Latin American Studies, Department of Romance Studies

Oswaldo Estrada is a professor of Spanish and Latin American studies and has been at UNC-Chapel Hill since 2007. His research focuses on gender formation, historical memory, violence and otherness. His numerous publications are available in Latin America, Europe and the United States. He is the author or editor of seven books of literary and cultural criticism — the most recent of which is Troubled Memories: Iconic Mexican Women and the Traps of Representation (2018).


*scroll table horizontally to view all
Year Faculty to Undergraduate Student Faculty to Graduate Student Faculty to Junior Faculty
2018-19 Maria Ferris, Pediatrics Oswaldo Estrada, Romance Studies Allen Anderson, Music
2017-18 Irving Hoffman, Medicine Karen McCulloch, Allied Health Sciences Marcia Van Riper, Nursing
2016-17 Michele Berger, Women’s and Gender Studies Mark Fraser, Social Work M. Gregory Forest, Mathematics
2015 Christopher Armitage, English and Comparative Literature Daniel Riffe, Media and Journalism Susan Girdler, Psychiatry
2014 Kelly Hogan, Biology Donna Gilleskie, Economics Giselle Corbie-Smith, Social Medicine
2013 Sherryl Kleinman, Sociology Jeanne Moskal, English and Comparative Literature Silvia Tomaskova, Anthropology